Scientific Advisory Committee

Home / About Us / Scientific Advisory Committee

Scientific Advisory Committee | The Gutsy Group

The role of this Committee is to review applications for basic science or clinical research funding into Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis. It then presents its recommendations to the Committee of Management, after which a final decision on successful applications is reached.

The Scientific Advisory Committee comprises members who are actively involved in gastroenterological research, and in particular, inflammatory bowel disease research. Previous members of the Scientific Advisory Committee include Professor Greg Whelan from St. Vincent’s Hospital and Professor Francis Dudley from The Alfred Hospital.

Current members include Associate Professor Tony Catto-Smith from The Royal Children’s Hospital, Dr Miles Sparrow from The Alfred Hospital, both of whom are on the Committee of Management, and Dr Greg Moore from the Monash Medical Centre.

All members of the Scientific Advisory Committee are honorary members.

Prof. Tony Catto-Smith

Tony Catto-SmithProfessor Tony Catto-Smith joined the Committee of Management and The Gutsy Group’s Scientific Committee in 2007. He is now the Director of Gastroenterology, Nutrition and Liver Transplantation for Children’s Health Queensland.

Tony qualified in medicine at St Bartholomew’s Hospital, London. He undertook training in paediatrics in the UK, then Melbourne and Perth, before gaining experience in indigenous medicine in Port Hedland (WA). Tony then undertook further training over three years in Paediatric Gastroenterology in Calgary, Canada, as a Fellow of the Canadian Association of Ileitis and Colitis. His main clinical interests are in inflammatory bowel disease, bowel motility disorders and gastro-oesophageal reflux disease. Tony is the author of over 100 peer-reviewed scientific papers and has active clinical and research interests.

Dr Miles Sparrow

Mile SparrowDr Miles Sparrow joined the Committee of Management and the Scientific Advisory Committee in 2008. He graduated from the University of Melbourne in 1995 and was admitted as a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians in 2004.

After finishing gastroenterology training in Melbourne, he undertook a clinical research fellowship in inflammatory bowel disease at The University of Chicago, and Mount Sinai Hospital in New York. Miles attends inflammatory bowel disease clinics at The Alfred and Box Hill Hospitals, while working in private practice at Brighton Gastroenterology Associates. Miles’ research interests include the use of experimental agents in clinical trials and the optimal use of immune modulating medications in inflammatory bowel disease.

Dr Greg Moore

Greg MooreDr Greg Moore joined the Scientific Advisory Committee in 2009. He completed his undergraduate training at Monash University, then undertook Gastroenterology training at Monash Medical Centre. Greg completed a PhD in immunology and novel therapeutics for inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD) at St.Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne and the University of Melbourne.

He returned to Monash Medical Centre in 2007 to establish an IBD Unit which has a dedicated clinic and clinical trials programme. Greg is also a Senior Lecturer in the Monash University Department of Medicine with an ongoing interest in IBD immunology.